Clinical research award 2011

2013 Awardee: Michael Baumann

About the Award: Professor Baumann receives the ECCO Clinical Research Award 2013 in recognition of his contribution to the integration of scientific research and clinical practice in the field of cancer. Michael has long advocated translational activity bridging the work between the laboratory and the clinic. He is an important spokesman for multidisciplinarity, urging the oncology community to unite against cancer. He is a savvy scientist and compassionate clinician and a great example to all.

Michael Baumann is Professor of Radiation Oncology at the Technische Universität Dresden, chair of the Department of Radiation Oncology and a director of the multidisciplinary University Cancer Centre. He also holds an appointment as research director of Radiation Oncology and Radiation Research in Oncology at the Helmholtz Center Dresden-Rossendorf and is the chair of the OncoRay National Centre for Radiation Research in Oncology Dresden which is jointly established by the university, university hospital and the Helmholtz Center.

Michael Baumann trained at the University of Hamburg and was a Postdoctoral fellow at the Massachussetts General Hospital in Boston. In 1995 he became  a staff member of the Medical Faculty and University Hospital of the University of Dresden, where he leads the research programme on experimental radiotherapy and radiobiology, including investigations into the role of cancer stem cells, molecular targeted drugs, biological imaging for radiotherapy, and functional prediction for radiotherapy.

Baumann’s research is funded by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), the European Union, and the Saxony State Ministry for Science and Arts. He has published more than 250 scholarly articles and book chapters. He supervised more than 25 MD or PhD and 3 Habilitations theses.

He has received seventeen academic awards including the Gerhard-Hess-Award, (DFG, 1997), Michael Fry Research Award, Radiation Research Society (2002), Breur Gold Medal, European Society for Therapeutic Radiology and Oncology (ESTRO, 2002), the Membership of the German National Academy Leopoldina (2004), and the G.H. Fletcher Distinguished Professor Lecture Award of the MD Anderson Cancer Center (2012). Dr Baumann is past-president of  ESTRO and of ECCO, the European CanCer Organisation and is currently president of the German Society for Radiation Oncology (DEGRO).


Previous recipients of this award have been E. van der Schueren, K. Lundhom, H. zur Hausen, G. Bonadonna, M. Overgaard, L. Påhlman, P. Kleihues, P. Isaacson, R. Peto, C. van de Velde, Martine Piccart and Bill Heald.

PRINT THIS PAGE Page last modified: