European Cancer Organisation

Lifetime achievement award 2009

2009 Awardee

In 2009, the ECCO Lifetime Achievement Award was conferred to Margaret Foti, Ph.D., M.D. (h.c.), AACR Chief Executive Officer(USA), in recognition of her outstanding contribution to cancer research and her remarkable scientific leadership.

Dr. Margaret Foti received a commemorative plaque from the ECCO President, Prof. Alexander M.M. Eggermont, during the opening session of the ECCO 15 – ESMO 34th Multidisciplinary Congress in Berlin.  

A native of Philadelphia, Margaret Foti, Ph.D., M.D. (h.c.), earned a master’s degree and doctorate in communications from Temple University in Philadelphia.

Ph.D., M.D. (h.c.).

Foti’s graduate education and training focused on scientific communications, especially communications research, scientific publishing and information science.

At the AACR, Foti progressed through several key management roles in scientific publishing to become CEO in 1982. Working collaboratively with the elected officers of the AACR, she has provided the corporate knowledge and continuity of leadership that has been critical to the association’s progress and its mission to prevent and cure cancer. During Foti’s tenure, the AACR’s membership has grown from 3.000 to 28.000 scientists residing in nearly 90 countries.

Among her many professional activities, Foti serves as a board member and is a past president of the National Coalition for Cancer Research. She is also a member of the Melanoma International Foundation board of directors, a member of the executive committee and board of Friends of Cancer Research, a board member of the Greater Philadelphia Chamber of Commerce, a medical advisory board member of the Prevent Cancer Foundation, a council member of the Council of the European Association for Cancer Research, a member of the Wellness Leadership Council, a strategic advisory panel member of the International Union Against Cancer, a scientific advisory board member of the King Hussein Biotechnology and Cancer Institute, a member of the 2009 National Advisory Committee for the Review of Cancer and National Health Reform Legislation at George Washington University Medical Center and an external advisory board member for the University of Michigan Institute for Clinical and Health Research and NIH Clinical and Translational Science Award Program. She has served in various capacities for numerous associations and societies related to cancer and scientific publishing. Additionally, Foti has led the AACR as the scientific partner in the Stand Up To Cancer national initiative.

Foti has received many national and international awards for her contributions to cancer research. For her work, Foti has also been awarded honorary memberships in the Japanese Cancer Association and the European Association for Cancer Research, as well as an Honorary Doctorate in Medicine and Surgery from the University of Rome La Sapienza in 2003. She received a second Honorary Doctorate in Medicine and Surgery from the University of Catania in Sicily in July 2008 and a third honorary Doctorate in Medicine from the University of San Pablo CEU in June 2009.


About the ECCO Lifetime Achievement Award

The ECCO Award for Lifetime Achievement was established by the ECCO Board of Directors in early 2009, awarded for the first time at the ECCO 15- ESMO 34th Multidisciplinary Congress, Berlin, in 2009.

The award honours individuals who has made an outstanding contribution to the fight against cancer, by impacting the cancer field or the cancer professional community, and by demonstrating a lifetime commitment to progress against cancer.

Nominations for the ECCO Award for Lifetime Achievement are accepted for individual candidates irrespective of race, sex, nationality, or religious/political views. Institutions, groups or associations are not eligible. 

Nominations can be made by any individual member of any ECCO member society. Candidates cannot nominate themselves. Nominations can be sent to the ECCO office or to any ECCO Board member, before April 1 of each non-even year. The awardee is selected by the ECCO Board of Directors.

The recipient, who must be present to receive the Award (unless otherwise unable to do so because of health restrictions or other serious conflicts), receives a commemorative plaque, and financial support to attend the biennial joint ECCO-ESMO congress.


PRINT THIS PAGE Page last modified: